Warning: Declaration of Walker_Cat_Filter::start_el(&$output, $category, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Category::start_el(&$output, $category, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $id = 0) in /home/rehman/public_html/wp-content/themes/extranews/functions/extra-functions.php on line 0
World T20 kicks off in Bangladesh today
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Scroll to top


No Comments

World T20 kicks off in Bangladesh today

DHAKA: ICC Twenty20 World Cup also known as World T20 will kick off as hosts Bangladesh will play against Afghanistan in the first qualifying match of the fast paced tournament whereas Nepal will play against Hong Kong at Chittagong on Sunday (today), ARY News reports from Dhaka.

Group 1 of the World T20 comprises of Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand and Qualifier B1 whereas Group 2 consists of West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan and Qualifier A1. The teams have already qualified for the Super10 stage of the competition. Top two sides from each group will progress to the semi finals of the tournament.

Further eight teams will play the qualifying stage of the World Cup. Hosts Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal and Hong Kong whereas Group B consists of Zimbabwe, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands. The top team from each group will progress to the next stage of the World T20.


The first World T20 was played at South Africa in 2007 in which India become the first Twenty20 Champion. Pakistan won the second edition in 2009 in England. In 2010, England defeated Australia to win the World Cup in West Indies whereas the West Indies emerged as Champions in the 2012 edition in Sri Lanka.

It should be noted that no team has won the World T20 twice.

originally published at arynews.tv

March 16, 2014 10:30